Lessons Learned & Random Ramblings

Just another WordPress.com weblog

GRACE: My word for 2011 January 3, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kate @ 3:55 pm

I subscribe to a great blog called The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. I always enjoy what she has to say but recently something in particular stuck with me. Rubin featured a “Happiness Resolution” which encouraged readers to “choose a one word theme for the new year”. I’ve been thinking about this for several weeks and I have officially selected my word for 2011: GRACE.

According to Dictionary.com – Grace is defined as the following: “elegance or beauty of form, manner, motion, or action; a pleasing or attractive quality or endowment;  favor or good will”.

When I think of grace I think about grace in motion, treating all people with kindness and respect. I think of the state of grace and of graceful simplicity. I also think about the importance of saying no gracefully and the fear of falling from grace. The word is pretty powerful and has so many different ideas and emotions attached.

When I was little my grandfather called me “Grace”. It started because I was less than graceful as a child. I was a bit of a klutz and often made people laugh with my lack of gracefulness. As I got older – and thankfully less klutzy! – the name stuck. My grandfather passed away when I was 14 but in the nearly 20 years that have passed my family continues to occasionally refer to me as Grace – thankfully almost always in a positive light!

As I started to think about how I would like to define 2011 it just came to me – it will be “The Year of grace”. I want to be graceful in the way I carry myself, I want to be graceful in the way I communicate and interact with others. I want to try to exhibit grace under pressure when things get crazy and I hope to be able to get back up gracefully if I should happen to fall down.

2011 will bring a LOT of changes – I have committed to tackling a new job in higher education, I have taken on new courses to teach and I have committed to writing more – in particular I plan to tackle the topic I previously blogged about. My husband and I want to have children, I have friends who have moved away that I hope to visit and remain connected to. I will be an aunt in a few months and have lots of family obligations to balance as well. I hope to handle all of it with grace and create a life that whenever possible exudes graceful simplicity.

What is your word for 2011? How will you define your year? Best of luck and Happy New Year!

 

2 Responses to “GRACE: My word for 2011”

  1. Brandy Says:

    Lovely… really one of your bests my darling and blessed and talented and graceFULL friend. Love to you – call me sista!!! xoxo
    b.

  2. Is this fate or what? http://www.lisaleonardonline.com/word-of-the-year-necklace-P213C8.aspx

    One of my other favorite blogs as well as a kick #$$ jewelry designer


Leave a Reply

